visit 'giridhar.co.in'

Dell Hell

There has been a lot of positive reviews and praises for Dell floating in the web. Blindly relying on these reviews I took a giant leap and purchased myself my first Dell laptop. Its a XPS series and Model M1210. XPS is supposed to be the premier lineup in Dell production line and its the most expensive of the lot. I was ready to pay the extra money imagining I would get a red-carpet welcome in the customer service area plus superior performance and quality product. I was decieved by Dell in all three areas.

1. Red Carpet Customer Service

After one year, I wanted to extend my warranty and I contacted Dell by email. They responded fast but the response was very bland. No greetings, no regards, no contact details in the mail. I was surprised. But then I didn’t want to make a fuss. So I asked for my quotation for my XPS system. The guy sent me a quote for Inspiron system. I repeatedly told him that I have an XPS system. But he kept sending only the Inspiron quote. When enquired, I was surprised to hear that they have only one template for quotation PDF and it can accomodate just Inspiron. But still I can go ahead and get it as it would cover my service tagged Laptop. I was not so sure about this. By this time the guy in Dell India Support (Extended Warranty Section) lost his patience. So I contacted another guy over the phone, only to find that he reports to Guy 1 and he too sent me the same quote but with my laptop model mentioned in the remarks section. Yet this quote is for Inspiron.

I decided not to go for warranty extension with a company with such poor infrastructure. I really dont understand, if they can’t reprogram the tool to support XPS and other product lines as well.

I decided to buy the replacement for the battery and I found out that its not possible to check it online in Dell’s site. So I called them again and when the call center guy hears my issue, without any warning, he puts me on hold and transfers my call to a person responsible. And that person not available in desk so I go to her voice mail. It doesn’t route to any other person who can help me. Is there only one person who can sell battery in the entire Dell Asia?

Dell India Customer service is highly chaotic and ill-managed.

2. Quality Product

After exactly 1 year, the battery life started exponentially decreasing. This is not my first laptop and I have had many brands before and every one of them had a very decent battery life and they would run fine for years. I tried contacting the Technical Support team a couple of times and the made me wait for 40+ minutes in each of my call and the line got disconnected automatically. I didn’t want to waste anymore of my mobile bill (I dont have access to Toll Free number) and I started searching the web and found out that its the same case with many. The 53 watt 6 cell lithium battery would not last more than a year. Probably this could be a dell-tactic to make consumers buy more from them even after the laptop purchase. One of the worst unethical tactic I have ever come across. I never expected Dell’s products to be of such inferior quality.

3. Superior Performance

The XPS line-up is not a great thing to drooll about. Its just an average laptop and even Vista rated it as 3.5 in its hardware performance rating. Nothing great about either Dell brand or the XPS co-brand.

My next laptop will definitely not be Dell and I would never recommend Dell to any of my friends.

4 responses

  1. Let me try to help you, Giri. Yeah, I know sometimes, it can get difficult with Tech Support when they do not care about valuable customers and we feel bad about the purchase.
    Let me see what I can do, probably find someone internally and get them to look into the problem.

    With so many ups-and-downs, believe me, Dell is still a good option for anyone. Not because I work for it, but the very Laptop I am typing this is a Latitude 610, which has served me for more than 3 years in all rough conditions. :) (I had to replace the battery 4 months back as it neared its end of life and I had additional one with my case).

    May 28, 2008 at 12:13 AM

  2. deepan

    my friend had similar experience with dell.The problem in europe is that for any problem u are at the mercy of support offered by a call centre.

    May 30, 2008 at 11:45 PM

  3. Pingback: Giri’s Blog » Blog Archive » When Dell let me down!

  4. good I like your post

    February 3, 2012 at 12:22 PM

Leave a Reply

