visit 'giridhar.co.in'

Dell tagline – Screw to Survive

 Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

My Dell XPS laptop is helping me explore and discover a lot of Dell’s business strategies and most of them are unethical. My previous post would detail the problem I am currently facing with my Dell XPS M1210. I knew that Dell would not help me unless I pay them what they demand. But still I wanted to check my Luck Quotient. I called up Dell and the executive (Mr trained-Smarty-dell-mouthpiece) spoke to me for about an hour. Let me give you the gist of the conversation.

I have recorded this in my mobile. I will post the audio clip soon.

Once I explained the problem, he asked me to be on hold for a while, so that he could check what best he can do for me. He came back on the line and told me that he is going to give me a break-fix-warranty.

Now what is a break fix warranty for me? Pay for 1 year extended warranty + engineer visit + spare part cost. That will be 19,000INR in total. I told him, that this problem is not only with my notebook. Many people who have got the same model have suffered because of the design flaw. This is Dell’s fault and Dell must absorb the cost and replace it without charging.

He accepted that its a design issue with the GeForce 7400 gfx card and Dell has automatically extended the 1 year warranty to an extra year for all the product with 7400 gfx cards. My laptop has cruised past 2 years exactly (on March 8th 2009) so Dell will not replace it for free.

I was pretty shocked. Hang on! One year ago on March 2008, I called you guys and wanted to pay for an extended warranty and no one told me that I get a free warranty extension at that time. You guys sent me quotes and if had gone ahead with the purchase, I would have ended up paying for a free service.

He justified and rolled back his statement that, these free warranty was only for systems with fault. Yes, mine is faulty as well. Only that the fault came to light exactly after 20 days of expiry of the warranty + “so-called-free-extended” warranty period.

Dell… the greatest customer screwing machine of all time… Ok! I don’t want to drift off-topic. Now, I don’t care about extended warranty. A company like Dell must take responsibility for its mistakes and take back the faulty parts it has sold.

His point was, the company has extended its good-will gesture for one year and my laptop had no problems during that tenure and now I have to pay for it.

And so forth and so on… the argument was going nowhere. The business strategy I learnt is,  sell a faulty product to the customer and sell it over and over to the same customer, when the product fails. Nice strategy to make money, especially during the tough times of recession. I am sure Dell would not face any economic strangles with policies like this in place. Even if I pay for the service and get the Motherboard replaced, it is bound to fail in another year’s time.

Shall I or Should I not?

13 responses

  1. Really you had a bad time dude.

    April 1, 2009 at 2:32 PM

  2. Hay Giri,

    Thx for the post, I was planning to buy Dell Studio 15 for Home/Entertainment use, but will definitely think twice. May be switch to HP. Dell sucks big time :) and the customer service in Dell India needs a serious restructuring. Apart from all this they treat Indian customer as second class citizens so you don’t have an option to buy Dell Laptop without Bloody Windows Vista!!!!!

    April 1, 2009 at 2:33 PM

    • Giridhar

      @ Alfee.. ya right.. hope I get it fixed soon!

      @ Anupam.. uwc
      I have also posted my problem in Consumercompliants.in.
      Next stop is mouthshut.com

      Its better to check with consumer forums and user forums and do a thorough research before making any decisions…

      April 1, 2009 at 2:53 PM

  3. Rajiv

    Dell is treating customer issues the way some of those MNC banks do. I had Dell in mind too. I guess I’ll rethink about it now.

    April 1, 2009 at 3:38 PM

  4. Sad. for 19k you can get a new no frills laptop from Acer…

    But then, all companies have unfriendly policies like this.

    April 1, 2009 at 5:07 PM

  5. Dude, after considering all the points, I would suggest that you might as well fix the laptop first then, sell the laptop and then buy a new one.

    April 1, 2009 at 6:27 PM

  6. Giridhar

    Even on a fully functional laptop.. the resale value is very less nowadays.. will be surprised if u get 15% of the original price…

    April 2, 2009 at 9:54 AM

  7. Balaji

    too messy dude..suggest you try to find the top managements email id’s of Dell and send them a stinker with all the facts you have… It may atleast fall on some ears who can listen and act…

    April 22, 2009 at 10:03 AM

  8. 08020241066

    Hi Giridhar…. this “motherboard” gettin conked off jus happened to my m1530, n i gave the dell chaps a call n they came up with the, in his words “Diwali Dhamaka” of Rs.19500 n the offer is Rs.500 off coz of the Diwali offer….. wow wt an offer.. which is when i came across this write up of urs…… now m wondering wt 2 do…….. wanna know wt happened to ur laptop… this happend in march 4 u right…… so wt did u do finally??…. i cant cough up rs.19000… n guys u now know….. stay away from Dell….. they r exactly as Giridhar stated them to be

    September 30, 2009 at 12:03 PM

  9. OFFER!!! An offer to screw you? as crazy as it can get…. don't think about going back to Dell now. I took it to a local vendor and he serviced it for 4k and gave 6 months guarantee. But the problem came back within 2 months. But he fixed it again as it was under guarantee and Now I use my laptop less frequently. But it works good… though the display OEM display quality is reduced by 20% or so…

    September 30, 2009 at 5:59 PM

  10. 08020241066

    oh ok 4k huh……. where u based out of? did the guy fix ur motherboard or replace it?m in Pune n after doin this can i take a warranty from Dell?

    September 30, 2009 at 6:42 PM

  11. its got nothing to do with the motherboard as the Dell Screwers say.. it an issues with the VGA Chip. The guy replaced it and if u want to take warranty from Dell after this, i dont think its possible. Because once u have informed them u have a problem, they will have record of it and they will give u warranty only after inspection. I havent tried it and even if they give, i am not interested…

    October 1, 2009 at 2:22 PM

  12. Aakash shah

    Even I was facing touch pad issue since 4 months.Kindly don’t buy dell laptops specialy dell india because it gives worst service. I have already mail my problems to news channel and media people.

    September 12, 2016 at 9:42 PM

Leave a Reply

