visit 'giridhar.co.in'

10 years of web design

The year 1999 was when I was first introduced to the world’s wide web. I started making my own HTML pages with static text and some images. Yahoo.com was my favorite search engine then. Slowly I started using readymade Javascript available on varios sites like javascriptcity.com or dynamicdrive.com. Then I launched my very fist personal homepage in geocities.com. I can still remember how I felt when I launched my first website. I called everyone at home and showed them new website.

Those were the ages of static website. Introducing a server driver minute tool was considered cool. Site counter or guestbooks would draw in a lot of “wow” from my friends. I show off a marquee or a roll-over text effect and take great pride in DHTML driven text effects. Microsoft Frontpage was my primary tool and I explored many other tools as well. I was armed with a dial-up connection and a P3 desktop.

Then came Photoshop to my desktop. If I remember correctly, its Photoshop version 5. That made a huge difference to the images I had in my websites. I joined hands with a few friends who were interested and launced a few portals. We also got a domain name for ourselves and called our first portal “dreamsahead.com”.

I dunno why we coined that name. But it was my dream to craft my career out of my passion. Most of what I learned for web designing was out of self-interest and self-study. I also pursued my masters degree on the same line to further hone my skills. So here I am still hanging on to parts of my passion without any hard deviations.

I am writing this nostalgic blog while I am downloading all my contents from geocities.com. They are about to close down the service.

I have transfered one of my  site which I had in geocities into my personal server. It was created for my college culturals yufonec. 10 years and counting and the passion is ever growing…

One response

  1. test

    September 14, 2009 at 7:52 AM

Leave a Reply

