visit 'giridhar.co.in'

Those were the best days of my life…

I want to get lostI was standing near a shop on the street pacing up and down the pavement. I was waiting for my wife and was thinking nothing and doing nothing. A girl passed by me and I barely noticed her. She got into a waiting car, but she came out again and walked towards me and questioned me to confirm my name. I immediately recognized her. She was a friend of mine from School days. The last time I saw her was on her marriage. We struck conversation and I came to know she has 2 kids. We hardly spoke for 2 min and suddenly I realized we had nothing more to talk.

As I was waiting for my transport to arrive, someone tapped me on the shoulder. I turned to see a friend from College. He was in the same hostel and we used to travel together on weekends. He was there with his brother and another friend and we spoke for 2-3 minutes and again I ran out of conversations. For a moment I was happy to see a friend from the past. But within 2 minutes I realized that how the world has turned and has become filled with strangers.

My school friend and my college friend were real good friends of mine during the days. We have laughed together, joked, been through tough times together, played in the sun, planned tricks in hostel, conspired against teachers, gossiped, chit chat and we have done so much talking together. But today when I meet them, all I could ask them are these 5 common clichéd question…

  1. How are you?
  2. How is work going on? Where are you working?
  3. How is your spouse?
  4. How many kids and what are they doing?
  5. Been in touch with any of our other friends? if yes, a little update…

Maybe if we had more time, we could sit down and talk about the old times and turn the wheels just to refresh the past happenings. But nothing new could ever happen. We cannot conspire against teachers, we cannot gossip (coz, we are grownups..,). We have to be more mature on our approaches. We have to maintain our dignity. We have to display acts of respects for each other. But all this is not me. On the Inside, I am still a kid still trying to figure out why is there a fake wall around me, all of a sudden.

As my friends walked away, the lines of “Summer of 69” by Bryan Adams gently crossed my mind…

And now the times are changin
Look at everything thats come and gone
Sometimes when I play that old six-string
I think about ya wonder what went wrong

Standin on your mamas porch
You told me it would last forever
Oh the way you held my hand
I knew that it was now or never
Those were the best days of my life

Back in the summer of 69

One response

  1. Hi! I enjoyed “ploughing” through your blog! Especially the reviews, I tended to agree with most of them! I like how you write, very witty in fact! I came across your blog while searching for something on google. Your name is what caught me off guart. Giri's blog. There was a Giri in my life a very long time ago. Summer of '98.

    September 29, 2009 at 2:25 PM

Leave a Reply

