visit 'giridhar.co.in'

mobiles, roads and safety

On a monday, I start my car and head to work. The road traffic is at its peak and everybody is in a hurry to get to their office. The ride is not a fast one, but a very tricky one. I have to make sure that I hit or scratch no other vehicle on road. At this instant, my mobile phone rings and its an important call. The question is to answer it now or park the vehicle and then attend. But parking is nearly impossible as the road is filled with vehicles of all sorts. I ultimately end up answering the phone with one hand and driving with other hand. I am not only putting myself and my vehicle at risk, but I am posing danger to the society who is traveling along with it. mmhm, now is that a criminal offense to be a danger to the society? yes it is. How many of us do the mistake? I think there is not a single soul on earth who hasn’t mixed talking on mobile with driving on road.

A few of us argue that its safe to use a wired or wireless headset while driving. But my point is, it as dangerous as using the mobile handset. Certain handsets blocks the external noise and make you practically deaf to horns and sounds. Driving requires full attention as we are responsible for the safety our passenger, our own property and life and also the safety of fellow drivers, travelers and their property. None of these can be taken for granted. When we talk, our concentration is not focused on driving and there is a high chance of committing a mistake.

The pedestrians are exposed to greater danger when they talk and walk. Their attention is focused on the conversation and they are deaf to the road noise. You are an endangered species, if you talk on your mobile and walk on the roads.

Top 5 endangered road travellers

  1. The two-wheeler driver with his handset squeezed between his shoulder and arching neck
  2. The pedestrian crossing the road while having a heated conversation on the phone
  3. The two-wheeler driver with noise-canceling headset listening to music of talking to someone while on the move
  4. The driver (two/four/pedestrian) fiddling with the mobile / music player controls while on the ride
  5. The four-wheeler driver on the phone and on the road

Top 5 reasons to take that call on road

  1. Its my girl/boy friend  and how can i miss the call?
  2. It’s a multi-million business deal and I must talk now.
  3. I don’t care. Incoming is free anyway.
  4. I don’t get proper signal in office or at home.
  5. Travel is the only time, when I am free for a chit chat over the phone

Only reason for avoiding talking on the move

  1. There is someone who loves you and they are waiting for you to return home safely.

The call can wait…

3 responses

  1. Oh no…I am at 3rd place in the Endangered road traveller…will try to stop listening to music from now..tks…

    May 20, 2010 at 9:44 AM

  2. me too on the list. 3rd and 4th. I want to correct myself. Now everytime i tend to make the mistake, ill think of this post. hope it helps :)

    May 20, 2010 at 9:57 AM

  3. Very rarely I take calls while driving, hmmm, I need to be careful about that 'RARE'.

    May 20, 2010 at 4:10 PM

Leave a Reply

