visit 'giridhar.co.in'

Road rage

I was driving my car around, the traffic was heavy and I was stuck in it. Suddenly there was a thump and I realized that some dumb two-wheeler rider has hit my car from behind. I jumped out of the car and quickly inspected the damage. It was a small dent in the rear bumper. Not an ugly one, but still that made me very angry. I ran and stopped the guys in the 2 wheeler. The driver was a heavily built person. He looked like a henchman. I didn’t notice the pillion rider. Seeing the size of the person, my defense instincts kicked in and I started shouting and tried to get on top of the situation. I went a step ahead and also took out the keys from the bike, like a traffic cop. I asked the guy to check out the damage, but he was very polite and apologetic all the while. But anger barred my senses and I shouted that I am going to call the police. The entire traffic came to a stand still and the honks went mad all around. The guy suggested that let’s get the vehicle to the side and settle it among ourselves. So I gave him the bike keys and I parked my car along the sides and the person got on his bike and I could see that he really wanted to flee the area. But the heavy traffic wouldn’t let him. Suddenly I noticed the pillion rider, and he was handicapped. Slowly I regained my composure. I calmed down and assessed the situation. The person was talking something about being in a hurry, hospital and he being a worker.

He then pulled his bike to the side and we started talking again. But this time I didn’t want to be harsh. Just told him to be careful and to care for others’ property, blah blah blah. But seriously what am I doing here? This guy was atleast 6 feet tall and over 120kg. If he chose to, he could have just raised his voice a bit and that would have made me shit in my pants. Instead he was very polite and repeatedly apologizing.

When I got back into my car, I felt really bad that I was shouting at a person with a 3rd rated behavior. After all its a small dent in the car and I was making a huge fuss. I must not have behaved badly with this person. As a self note: never lose your mind over petty issues. Road rage is bad behavior and I must try to control it.

3 responses

  1. Gud 1 da..

    May 24, 2010 at 7:27 PM

  2. Better to raise voice than be made fool of. However, the two wheeler driver seems to be a good guy.

    May 25, 2010 at 6:29 AM

  3. shame, shame puppy shame machan!

    July 21, 2010 at 2:18 PM

Leave a Reply

