visit 'giridhar.co.in'

Motorola Milestone : the decision

After a long 4 year unbeaten innings, I finally retired my Nokia N95 8GB. Symbian is out and Android is in. After months of research, spec analysis, user interviews, opinions, brain storming, competitor analysis, walk-through videos and intense thought process, I finally decided on Motorola Milestone. Here is what I wanted.

  1. I don’t want to invest too much money in buying a mobile. It had to be a reasonable compromise between the spec sheet and the price tag.
  2. iPhone was expensive to buy and the apps were to sharewares. The OS is a closed apple product, although it offered unparalleled user experience.
  3. Maemo based phone N900 was under consideration. But Nokia’s support for Maemo could not be promised and there may not be more Maemo based devices. Although MeeGo is now available for N900, that’s still research in progress and I didn’t want to place my bet on Nokia on that front.
  4. Better UX in newer Symbian mobiles were still hopes and promises that haven’t been realized or user tested and proven. I didn’t want to wait.
  5. I wanted an open OS where apps are available along with support from the developer community.
  6. I wanted a mobile phone with decent speed and that means lesser time wasted in waiting for processes to process.
  7. I wanted a fully capacitive touch mobile with support for multi-touch and a rich display quality.
  8. I want to spend less time on my computer and more time on the mobile.
  9. The software specs must be scalable and open to easy upgrades and support from the manufacture.
  10. and of-course, I didn’t want a compromise in the style factor.

So here is the verdict: Motorola Milestone. I got a hefty discount because the Android version was 2.0.1 and not v2.1. This discount made a huge impact in the purchase decision. Obviously, I upgraded to v2.1 within 72 hours of procuring the device and after playing with v2.0.1. The discount was also offered because the device was not covered under international warranty. But I interned to void the warranty anyway as I am analyzing on rooting the mobile and modding it (like the cyanogen mod).

It was very difficult to decide and part with my trusted companion N95 8gig. But there was a dire need to buy a mobile in the family and I passed on my N95. I am glad that it’s still a part of the family.

Check out: Motorola Milestone – review

10 responses

  1. How about Nexus da?? Why u didn't go for tht??

    June 2, 2010 at 3:11 AM

  2. Nexus/desire is a very good fone with good support and backup. That was my first choice, but its ~12k more than the deal i got, and it was not available anyway.

    June 2, 2010 at 8:18 AM

  3. i baught for my guy as i do not use phn for other than calling and recieving calls… milstone is truly amazing… i love its ways

    June 2, 2010 at 12:18 PM

  4. @Neha may i ask how much u paid for?

    June 2, 2010 at 2:58 PM

  5. @Neha may i ask how much u paid for?

    June 2, 2010 at 2:58 PM

  6. 27000… but now it isnt available at this price… we baught it at introductory price.

    June 2, 2010 at 3:10 PM

  7. Jitendra

    y don't u consider Nexus One if it is available in India?

    June 4, 2010 at 10:10 AM

  8. Official Nexus was not available when I got it. Plus, Nexus has a few issues and also Milestone fits my budget.

    June 20, 2010 at 5:10 PM

  9. what did the Milestone cost you…

    June 23, 2010 at 5:51 PM

  10. 20k :)

    June 24, 2010 at 12:58 AM

Leave a Reply

